Rothsay Ghost Town Information
77 kilometres east of Perenjori is the ghost town of Rothsay. Gold was discovered here in 1894 and within a year all the leases had been pegged.
In its heyday, Rothsay had a population of 500, the town experienced a second lease of life during the 1930s when a company financed by the flamboyant mining entrepreneur, Claude de Bernales, re-opened the mine in 1932.
Today, old buildings such as the original mine manager's house and the 'Strong
Room', and the derelict shaft are reminders of the 1890s gold fever.
Vermin Proof Fence
Originally called the "Rabbit Proof Fence", it runs north and south, 37 kilometres east of..Camel Soak
The tranquil surroundings at Camel Soak east of Perenjori, provide an excellent spot to sit down..John Forrest Lookout
The John Forerest Lookout provides a 360 degree view of surrounding station country.
It was here..Pindarri Soak
Pindarri Soak is a popular picnic area and lookout.
When touring near Perenjori, stop at this..Joker's Tunnel
Discover the enormous lengths gold prospectors went to in their search for gold in the 1890s, with..Perenjori Museum
Located in the old bank building also occupied by the tourist information
centre. The museum has..Paynes Find Gold Battery and..
Paynes Find Gold Battery and Museum houses the only working Gold Battery remaining in Western..Lake Nullewa
Lake Nullewa is an excellent spot for birdwatchers. With good seasonal rains the lake is often..Buntine Rock
Buntine Rock is located two kilometres east of Buntine. Buntine has its picnic areas just east of..Jibberding
On the Great Northern Highway, some twenty-five kilometres from Wubin, Jibberding has always been a..